Finalist Concert Series


Doors Open - 7:00 pm
Performance time - 7:30 pm – 10:30 pm
Intermission - 8:30 pm – 9:00 pm

The concert spans across five locations including the Newcastle Conservatorium (Australia), Ars Electronica and Bruckner University (Austria), Yong Siew Toh Conservatory of Music (Singapore), Central Conservatory of Music (China) and Waikato University (New Zealand) live in real time. Revolutionary in its structure, audience members will be exposed to a spectrum of experiences from a pipe organ and string orchestra to an iPhone ensemble. The event will also include the Newcastle Chamber Choir performing together from two separate locations.


  1. Yong Siew Toh Conservatory of Music (Singapore) – Quartet Performance with two musicians located in Singapore and two in Newcastle.
  2. Central Conservatory of Music in Beijing – Traditional Chinese and Western Fusion with two musicians in Beijing and two in Newcastle. International Collaborators Piece – Developed by Ken Fields (Canada) and Ian Whalley (New Zealand) using musicians from New Zealand, Austria, Beijing, Singapore    and Australia.
  3. 3 Networked Music Performance finalists performing with the International Telematic Ensemble and the Newcastle Chamber Choir.
  4. Cat Hope – ‘Black Emperor’ for 2 pipe organs, string orchestra and laptops.
  5. Greg Schiemer – ‘Transposed Dekany’ for Apple iPhones 
  6. Chow Jun Yan and Lonce Wyse – ‘For All Intents’ for remotely located performers and computer.



Doors Open - 5:30pm
Performance time - 6:00pm – 9:00pm
Intermission - 7:00pm – 7:30pm

The second concert is to be held at the University of Newcastle’s Harold Lobb Concert Hall. Housing the competition’s historical and innovation categories this concert recreates music by utilising history and innovation in unique ways. Performances will propel traditional concerto forms into the 21st century with soloists performing alongside a symphonic orchestra. Virtuoso performances on piano, trombone and violin of music from Romantic and 20th Century concertos will run alongside innovative new compositions involving light sculptures, video projections and jazz improvisation.


  1. Sonja Schebeck – Violin Concerto No. 1 in D, Opus 19, Sergie Prokofiev
  2. Robert Jarvis – Concerto for Light Sculpture, Monopod and Orchestra
  3. Liesl Sheman – Piano Concerto in A minor, Opus 54, Robert Schumann
  4. Orbis Tertius – Trial of the Ignorant Truth: Concerto for Microtonal guitar, Saz, Electric Saw and Erhu and Orchestra
  5. Matisha Panagoda – Cello Concerto in B minor, Opus 104, Antonin Dvorak
  6. Colin Prichard – Fantasy for Trombone and Orchestra, Opus 42, Paul Creston
  7. John Burgess – Concierto de Aranjuez  in B minor arranged for Electric double bass and Orchestra, Joaquin Rodrigo
  8. Mary Mainsbridge - Code-Centric Motion for voice, gesturally controlled digital instrument and Orchestra